A Georgia mom is in hot water after letting her 10-year-old son get a tattoo. After someone noticed the ink of her son’s arm, Gaquan Napier was arrested and charged with misdemeanor cruelty and being a party to a crime.
According to Georgia law, tattooing children under the age of 18 is a crime, even if the parent consents.
Napier claims she didn’t realize it was a crime to allow her son to get a tattoo, and disagrees with the law.
“How can somebody else say that it’s not OK? He’s my child, and I have the right to say what I want for my child. I can’t go tell anybody else what I want for their child,” she told a local news affilate.
Napier says she allowed her son to get the tattoo because it was honoring his deceased brother who died two years ago after being hit by a car.
“It made me feel good to know that he wanted his brother on him,” Napier continued. “My son came to me and said, ‘Mom, I want to get a tattoo with Malik on it, rest in peace.’ What do I say to a child who wants to remember his brother?”
“It’s not like he was asking me, ‘Can I get Sponge Bob?’ Like people getting all kinds of things on them,” Napier concluded. “He asked me something that’s in remembrance of his brother. How can I say no?”
Napier isn’t the only parent who’s been arrested for allowing their child to get a tattoo. Back in 2010 Patty Jo Marsh and Jacob Bartels were arrested for allegedly tattooing six of their children.
While I wouldn’t let my child get a tattoo at 10-years-old, should a parent be arrested for doing so?